Hero
Sign in to follow this  
Akashic

First build help

Hello Citizens.

AKASHIC here and I'm completely new to PC gaming. Since first hearing about Star Citizen I was hooked straight away and knew this would be the game and year that i finally make the transition from console to PC gaming.
I've been looking into it all, and as you can imagine for a noob to say I'm overwhelmed would be an understatement so any help anyone on the forum can give it would be so greatly appreciated.

here's what i was thinking,

Intel core i5 4570 (4x3.2Ghz)
Windows 8.1 (64-bit)
Gigabyte Z87-D3HP Mainboard
Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600Mhz
Corsair 128GB SSD
1TB HDD
22x DVDRW
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770 4GB
Cooler Master CM 690 111 Case
Corsair CX 600W PSU

This comes to around £1000 which i can do but i have to purchase a monitor on top of this, also this is all from one site so if i shop around I reckon i could get it a little cheaper.

Someone replied to my post on another forum............

Scale up the cpu to the best i5 possible, The OEM i5 4670K is only £20 more and buy an aftermarket heatsink to keep it more quiet.

Offset the price difference by switching from 4Gb GPU to a 2GB one. 2GB is more then enough for gaming @ 1080p but please ask around in the forums as i'm not a great expert on GPUs.

Current games i play, don't much utilize more that 1.5Gb for me when running at 2560x1440p.
I assume you have built systems before? Aftermarket CPU coolers are about the most fiddly thing u will do after mounting the motherboard to the case.

Any views or input?

Thanks in advance

Hey AKASHIC.
Welcome to PC gaming, you wont look back!
The 4GB version of the GTX770 is a bit of a waste. I have read about people going over 2GB in Crysis 3 (Cryengine) at 1080p but apparently thats on max settings which is something the GTX770 cant handle anyway.
Don't worry about installing an after market cooler yourself, Its not that difficult and definitely worth it. Just try to find a few videos on youtube