Hero
Sign in to follow this  
gadgetick

New to Gaming Need Hard Drive

Hey Guys i am new to gaming and wanted to know which hard drive will be best for best gaming experience. 
My PC is very slow running PC. I have heard that an external hard drive can fix that. 

Please recommend a very low budget external hard drive.Please dont throw your affiliate links and try to help me. 
Thanks

An external drive probably won't be any quicker than your internal drive. If you want speed, you want to add an internal SSD drive, but they aren't as cheap. You can have fast or you can have "very low budget".

If you don't know about PC's, specifying the rest of your PC setup would help us.

Hi there. To help you, please tell us here the following:

CPU (central processing unit) Model and speed of your current PC:

RAM Size and Type:

Storage Type and size: Spinning HDD or Solid State Drive (SSD):

GPU (graphics processing unit) Model and size:

Also your budget for the upgrade.

M.2?

In the case of my gaming rig, no. I just bought a regular internal 2.5 inch SATA SSD because it didn't have an M.2 slot.

I bought an M.2 SSD for my RAID server because it supports it and that left the four SATA connections for the hard drives.

For my next gaming rig, I'm not sure if I'll go with an M.2 SSD or an internal 2.5 inch SATA SSD. I guess M.2 may be faster? But it sort of reduces my ability to easily move the drive around. What if you want to upgrade the M.2 SSD to a bigger size? Since there's only one M.2 slot then I guess you need a get an M.2 to SATA adaptor so you can plug the M.2 SSD into a regular SATA connector..? Ugh. So I may just stick with another 2.5 inch SATA SSD on my next rig to keep things simple.

I don't think anyone recommended that you should buy an external hard drive. It is unlikely that it will help.